The Best Butterscotch Cake In the Whole Wide World

Ok, maybe that’s a big claim, but I think it is true!

My grandmother gave me this recipe a few years back after I complimented her on how tremendously moist her cakes were.  Come to find out, all of her cakes were made in a similar fashion, but the butterscotch cake was my absolute favorite.  Not only my favorite, but I actually get requests to make it.  Orders, but I do not charge anything.  I just appreciate others wanting this fabulous cake.

This recipe is super, super simple, and great for the holidays.  It requires no frosting because of how sweet it is, but if you are one of those people who like a pretty presentation, I am sure that you will be able to melt some butterscotch chips and make a glaze.  I used a box cake for this recipe, but you can also find a white cake recipe you could use, and then add the pudding.

So without further ado, here is the recipe for :

“The Best Butterscotch Cake in the Whole Wide World”

1 small box instant butterscotch pudding

2 cups milk

2 eggs

3/4 cup oil

1 package butterscotch chips

1 box white cake mix

Mix pudding and milk as directed on box.  Add eggs and oil and beat together.  Add cake mix, and mix well.  Finally add the butterscotch chip.  Mix together until they are incorporated.  About 30 seconds.

Pour mixture into greased and floured pans, bake at 350 for 40 minutes.  I find that it may take even 50 minutes.

I was going to take a picture of the completed cake, but it was mysteriously eaten before I could.

So simple, and the best thing is, you can use this concept to make other cakes as well.  Chocolate pudding with a chocolate cake mix etc.  As I stated earlier, you can also make your own cake mix, but this is easier!

You will not be disappointed!

Have a great day everyone,

Suzy

Leave a Reply

