A Day in the Life of Us:: Messes

DSC_0012DSC_0017DSC_0014DSC_0015DSC_0018DSC_0019DSC_0022

Both boys decided they were going to do some cooking.  One made tortillas with cinnamon and sugar in the skillet, the other wanted cornbread.  As long as they make and clean it up, I think it is great.  However, as the picture shows above, our stove top was covered in sugar.  So I cleaned it.

Bills piled the top of our table.  Ugh, they never stop!

A science experiment was done, and they all enjoyed watching and creating a mess.

This is our life, messy and fun.

I still have not decorated for Christmas yet.  Looking at other blogs, I feel as though I am the only one in America that has not decked the halls.  I do have my advent calendar and candles out.  No, we do not have an elaborate daily plan of celebrating advent.  We as a society can turn what is supposed to be a time of simplicity and preparation into a stressed filled must get these activities done or I am a failure event.  Part of me is feeling as though I must rebel against this feeling.    I am just trying to keep it simple for my family.  The more I try to complicate things by adding must do activities, the more I muttle things up.  I am not a pleasant person to be around when I feel the pressure to get things done.  Why make Christmas more stressful, when it can be simple and fun?

We are planning to get our tree this weekend, and I am looking forward to having lights around the home.  Brightens things up.  However, I am not going to pretend that putting on the ornaments is a gentle, jolly time around here.  My kids usually forget that they are supposed to wait for me to take them out of the box, and hand them one by one to them.  Instead, they see the ornaments, take all of them out, and begin piling them all on one side of the tree.  Each year we lose an ornament because they have become over excited, and it falls shattering to a million pieces.  By the end of the night, I am frazzled, put the kids to bed, have a glass of wine, and then laugh at myself for getting all worked up about ornaments.

I may sound like a Grinch right now, but I assure you I am not.  Trying to keep it real.  I hope others of you have the same over zealous children and frazzled feelings as I do.  Surely, I am not the only one who experiences this phenomenon of the non perfect Christmas.

Yet some how in the craziness, our Christmas turns out perfect for our family.  We enjoy one another and laugh at our less than perfect traditions.  I really would not have it any other way, I promise!

Slow down and have a Very Merry Season full of less than perfect days!

Love,

Suzy

4 thoughts on “A Day in the Life of Us:: Messes

  1. Perhaps it is the warm weather this year, but in the house, I do not have a single Christmas decoration up yet either! Going to get the tree up today and do some decorating Sunday. Have the outside garlands/lites up. Been so warm, had to take advantage of doing it without freezing! So if this Christmas fanatic isn’t decorated yet, then I guess you have quite a bit of time still. :^)

    Like

Leave a Reply

