Sugar Cookies

DSC_0009 DSC_0010 DSC_0011 DSC_0012 DSC_0013 DSC_0014 DSC_0015 DSC_0016 DSC_0008

We made sugar cookies last night, and I must say, we had fun! The creativity my children possess never ceases to amaze me.  I do need to confess that I used to be a mom who would force my children to decorate exactly how I wanted them to.  I wanted my sugar cookies to look perfect, by golly!  Oh, how I have changed!  I give them the frosting, I take pictures and I let them at it!  Instead of perfectly manicured cookies, we have works of art that perfectly match each childs personality.

I used a very old-fashioned cookie recipe.  My great grandmothers cookbook is full of these tasty treats, so I decided to open it up and cook.  The word lard may scare some of you.  That is ok, please do not panic!  They are great!  And try not to think about the lard!  You could always replace it with Crisco, but we cannot use Crisco due to food allergies.  Lard is safer!  Well for food allergies anyway.  For the frosting I used a butter cream.  Oh yes, the recipe is full of fat.  But very, very good.

By the way, I have written the recipe exactly how my great-grandmother did.  I kept it in paragraph form, order and exact words.  Have fun with it!

Here is the Sugar Cookie Recipe:

Christmas Crisps

Cream 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup lard and 1 1/2 cups of sugar.  Add two well beaten eggs.  1 teaspoon vanilla.  Beat until light. Dissolve 1/2 teaspoon baking soda in 3 tablespoons sour cream or buttermilk.  Sift 3 cups flour with 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon baking powder.  Add cream and flour to egg mixture and blend well.  Chill until very cold.  Roll thin as a dime on floured board.  Cut into Christmas shapes with cookie cutters.  Bake at 350 degrees for 8 minutes or a delicate golden brown.  Decorate with desired Christmas colors.

Have a wonderful day everyone!

Love,

Suzy

Leave a Reply

