Wednesday Cooking Update

One of my favorite things to do is cook.  So I have decided to dedicate Wednesdays to a weekly cooking update in which I will post pictures of some of my meals and one recipe from the week.  Feel free to post a link in the comments section so I can check out what you are cooking up!  Or you can post a fun recipe in the comments!

Lots of cooking going on around here!  But there are a lot of other stuff going on too, so pictures are minimal!

DSC_0058

We had yummy Guinness Pie!  Oh my it really is amazing but time-consuming.  I only make this upon request on cold days.  So good and so filling.  Sorry the picture is so blurry!  My on really wanted to take pictures for me, and then I did not check them.  Oh well, live and learn!

DSC_0008

Potato Pancakes with brats.  Another cold weather staple.

DSC_0009

Homemade Hot rolls in honor of my grandmother.  I served these as sloppy Joe sliders.  Yum!

CIMG4761

For yummy snack time, banana bread!  Oh, my homemade goodness!

Today, I thought I would share Guinness pie recipe.  As stated before, it takes time, but it is worth the effort!

Take care everyone!

Love,

Suzy

Guinness Pie

2 lb stew meat rolled in seasoned flour.  (I season mine with season salt, garlic powder and onion powder.)

1 tsp brown sugar

2 large onions peeled and chopped

Mushrooms, as much as you prefer or you can leave out completely

3 diced carrots

2 bottles of Guinness or another stout.  I have used other micro brew stouts that have given this an awesome flavor.

1 package of bacon

Pastry crust or make one from scratch.  I always make mine from scratch due to food allergies in my house.  But this does increase the difficulty in the dish.

Grill the bacon and place the floured stew meat in the bacon grease.

Add the onions, mushrooms and carrots.  Cook for a few minutes with the meat.

Add the sugar and Guinness, add bacon back in and simmer for at least two hours.

You will add more Guinness if the mixture gets too thick.

Add the pie crust to a deep dish (Dutch oven works great) cook halfway.  Add the Guinness mix, then add the other pastry.  Cook at 425 until the pastry is golden.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

