Wednesday Weekly-What we Cooked

Oh, it has been so crazy that not much good cooking has happened.  Our evening are full, and last week, we only had one computer for five people.  This may not sound bad for most of you, but my kids do all of their school on the computer, and I do all of my work on the computer.  There was no time to think about what amazing things to create for dinner.  But there were some yummy surprises.

I did think of getting my crock pot out last week for taco night.  The kids are starting to really look forward to Taco Tuesdays now, especially since I am trying out new ways of preparing meats.  I do not know if I told anyone, but my husband recently took an allergy test and was positive for chicken, seafood, eggs and green beans? ( I told him that I think he is lying on the green beans bit.)  So, my choice in meats for tacos is limited to pork and beef.  Instead of ground beef, I have experimented with shredded beef, and porks.  Any other ideas are more than welcome.

Here is my creation for shredded pork:

DSC_0009

Take a pork butt

Take a jar of salsa (we used our home made salsa)

a little brown sugar

2 onions chopped

2 cans of Pepsi

salt and pepper

combine all in a roaster pan and let cook for 5 to 6 hours until it falls apart. Turn the pork over every two hours. Now you can adjust any of the ingredients according to the size of your pork.  We had a pig butchered, therefore have larger portions of meat.  You can also use any kind of soda and any kind of salsa.  We can our own salsa from our garden.  This gives the pork a nice fresh taste. You can also cook this in the crock pot and let it go all day.

This was the result:

DSC_0002

 

The boy who does not eat anything was eating, and enjoying his tacos.  I even got hugs from the other two.  I am not joking!  They actually hugged me!!!

The other great recipe that was sort of made up because we were in need of going to the store but too lazy to, was this risotto.

DSC_0125

So delicious.

Heat 5 cups vegetable broth

melt three table spoons butter in a large saucepan

add two chopped onions and 2 cloves of chopped garlic.  Cook until soft

add in the rice or risotto rice and cook for about two minutes

add about 1/2 cup of white wine and cook until evaporated.

Add the heated broth one ladle full at a time.  This is the time consuming part.  Be patient! It is totally worth it!

Add the broth a little at a time until gone and the rice is creamy and al dente.

Now here is where I added the odds and ends.  jalapeno, prosciutto, green olives, black olives, parmesan, mozzarella and provolone cheeses.  All were eyeballed and to taste.

Oh this was heaven!  Comfort food in a bowl.

I hope you all are enjoying your time cooking.  If you have any recipes that are great for those with little time, please feel free to share your link in the comments.

Hope to hear from you!

Love,

Suzy

 

Leave a Reply

