Wednesday Weekley-Bread

On Mother’s Day, my family gave me the entire day to myself!  At first, I was so excited, I mean, who gets an entire day to themselves to do whatever you choose?  A rare opportunity indeed!  But towards the middle of the day, I found myself bored.  I actually started vacuuming, on Mother’s Day!  But then, I started thinking of things I never get to do alone because now I have helping hands?  Oh yeah, cooking!  I love my kids wanting to help, but sometimes, I just want to bake or cook by myself.

And that is what I did.  I channeled my great grandmother by opening the Record Book and cooking bread recipes.

DSC_0001DSC_0002

I cooked rice muffins.

Banana bread.

And Pumpkin Bread.

DSC_0005

I even decided to do them all completely old school and use no electronic mixers.  Just a wooden spoon, bowl and measuring cups/spoons.

I had so much fun.  And when my family came home, they had so much fun eating all the yummy bread.  Well, they are still eating the bread for breakfasts and snacks.

I will leave you with a pumpkin bread recipe, straight from the early 1900’s.

1 2/3 cup flour (I used whole wheat)

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon soda

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup oil or lard

1 cup white sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup butter milk

2 eggs

1 cup cooked pumpkin

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and nutmeg

combine sugar, oil and eggs, mix well.  Add milk, pumpkin and seasoning.  Add dry sifted ingredients and beat well.

Pour into greased and flowered loaf pans or 2-1 lb coffee cans.

Bake 1 hour for bread pans or 45 minutes for coffee cans at regular temperature.  (which I have discovered to be 350.  these old recipes are hard to follow sometimes!)

 

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Weekley-Bread

Leave a Reply

