Wednesday Weekly-Pastries

DSC_0038DSC_0034DSC_0032DSC_0035

Breakfast is crazy at my house!  It seems like the kids stand in front of the refrigerator and stare asking, “What is there to eat?”  So I took measures into my own hands this past weekend, planning out breakfasts that include healthy and a little bit of fun.  Now instead, they eat what is on the menu for the week, not taking forever to decide.  Although it may have seemed easier leaving it up to them, I noticed they were not making healthy choices, so I had to provide those choices for them.

Part of the fun was making cinnamon rolls.  But I did not just make plain old cinnamon rolls, I also replaced the standard filling with blueberry or strawberry preserves.  And, I left off the sugary frosting on all of them.  At first, my children were mortified, but they have realized they are still just as sweet without the added sugar.

The roll recipe I usually make, from my grandmother, seemed daunting for a Sunday.  Although delicious, it would have been a very long process.  So, I decided to open up the Record Book (my great grandmothers book)  and see if there was an  alternative.  I found her quick hot roll recipe, and thought that this looked like a great alternative!  The results are extremely delicious.  I will still use the more complicated one for days when I want to remember my dear grandmother, but for days when I want to get rolls quickly done, this is a great standby!

Here is the recipe (remember this was written in the 40’s):

Dissolve one package of yeast with two tablespoons sugar and 1 cup warm water.

Scald 1 cup milk with one tablespoon butter or oleo, and one teaspoon salt.

When milk is cool, add one beaten egg.  Then add milk mixture to yeast.

Stir in enough flour to make a soft but sticky dough. (I found this to be 4 1/2-5 cups)

Let rise one hour, then punch the dough down and stir with fork.

Let rise 20 more minutes, then shape into rolls. (this is when I rolled dough out about 1/4″)

This is a step added to make rolls:  Fill with cinnamon roll filling or your favorite fresh preserves. Then cut and place in baking dish.

Let rise until double in bulk.

Bake in moderate oven. (translation 375)

Bake 15 to 20 min.

I hope you all try this fun recipe!  Let me know how it goes!

Would love to know what you are cooking up!

Love,

Suzy

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Weekly-Pastries

Leave a Reply

