Red Cabbage Soup

20141006_174718_resized

We have a ton of red cabbage from our garden this year.  Our first year of growing this beautiful plant, and we are up to our ears.  So far, we have made sauerkraut, cole slaw and canned soup.  I am pretty excited about the other recipes we are going to try, from stir fries to cabbage rolls.

I remember when I was little, my mom would make cabbage soup.  The house would smell divine while she was cooking it.  I actually remember my mouth watering because it smelled so good.  But then I would chicken out and pass up the goodness because it looked to disgusting.  I had no idea what I was missing, until I made my own.  Mom, so sorry I was a picky eater!

I called my mom, and asked what she put into her soup, and let me tell you it is soooo easy!  Truly this soup surprised my husband and I.  We did not put in any seasoning from a jar, it is simply fresh garden goodness, and did I mention absolutely beautiful?

Perfect for a fall day!

Red Cabbage Soup ( for all my vegetarian readers, this is vegan!)

Chop one head of cabbage-you can chop in bigger chunks or shred like cole slaw.

One chopped onion

One clove of garlic

Diced jalapenos to your liking.  We like things with a kick.

Fresh Basil to your liking

Shredded carrots again to your liking.  We had huge carrots from our garden with probably was the equivalent to four.

Add a little water to the pot, not too much as the cabbage will produce its own liquid.  To ours, we added approximately four cups.  We were making a huge batch to can and eat.

Mix all of this together in a huge pot, and then let cook on medium heat stirring occasionally.  Cook it until the cabbage loses some of its crunch but not too much!  (Of course if you like it soggy, then please keep cooking)  While you are waiting for it to stop cooking, enjoy the heavenly smell that this soup makes.  It will truly make your mouth water.

Garnish with shredded cheese, or leave as is.  The soup is great both ways.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Red Cabbage Soup

Leave a Reply

