This Weeks Menu-On a Budget

20130626_123349

I have found that with vintage inspired cooking, one must be frugally minded and ready to experiment with ingredients that you already have.  We are trying to save money on groceries and for a family of five, this can be extremely tough.  The one thing I noticed in my great grandmothers cookbook was the fact that she was constantly trying to figure out how to stretch her dollar, yet eat healthfully making dinner a priority for her family.  So for the next two to three weeks, I am going to see how much I can stretch my dollar.  We already had some great ingredients before I went grocery shopping on Friday.  We had flour, frozen veggies from our garden, canned goods from our garden, etc.  But I needed a few more things to help move us into the realm of penny pinching weeks ahead.  So, I went to the store with a budget of $300, and only spent $260.  We are going to try and make it to February.  The only thing I must tell you is that we do have milk and juice delivered once a week.  We have decided not to stop these orders because of the fresh milk and juice.  Important to our family and health.

Also, to save on money, my family will be eating leftovers for lunch, and I made an egg casserole, bread and there are cereals and fruits available for breakfasts.

Okay, one more thing, my family has many, many allergies.  Chicken is one of them!  Yes I know, very weird!  But many of the recipes that I will be cooking this week and sharing with you all are peanut free, soy free, chicken free and green bean free.  Funny and tragic all at the same time!

Okay, so lets go over this weeks menu for dinner!

Monday:  Meatloaf, mashed potatoes and broccoli

Tuesday:  Orange pork made in crock pot, Cauliflower stir fry

Wednesday:  Scalloped potatoes with spinach and ham made in crockpot, salad

Thursday:  Pork Roast with onions and apples, Mixed veggies and brown rice pilaf

Friday:  Pork quesadillas, beans and taco salad.

Saturday:  My sons famous pizza

Sunday:  we are having a potluck at our home.

I look forward to sharing with you all how we do! And if you do the same and would like to share your menus, please feel free!

Love,

Suzy

Leave a Reply

