Meatloaf, Orange Pork and Scallop Potatoes

2015-01-11 20.14.032015-01-12 17.59.522015-01-13 13.24.54

So far this week, three meals have been made on this weeks menu.  I must admit that all have been quite the success!  We have had great leftovers, and have been doing great at sticking with the menu and the budget. But, it has only been three days and the weekend is drawing closer.  The weekend is when I like to sit back and relax and do nothing! Cooking has been a really relaxing thing for me in the middle of the chaos.

After our morning lessons, I let the kids work on their other subjects independently, and that is when I prepare the meals.  It is the only time I have because once the evening hits, we are off and running around.  My kids have enjoyed watching me prepare the meals in the afternoon, because it gets them excited about dinner.  For the rest of the afternoon, they smell the flavors and actually want to come home and eat, not stop somewhere.

Their favorite meal so far?  Well, it is a toss up between the meatloaf and the orange pork.  To be honest, it was a toss up  for me as well.  This was truly the best meatloaf that I have ever made, yet the orange pork was so, so tasty.  So today, I will share my recipe for the best meatloaf ever, and tomorrow I will share my recipe for the best orange pork ever!

I hope you try them and enjoy every bite!

2015-01-11 16.18.32

Finely cut celery, carrots, mushrooms and onions.  About a cup each. Also cut up two cloves garlic.

2015-01-11 16.20.28

Sautee

Then place in a large bowl, 1 pound of ground beef, 1 pound ground deer (yes, I said deer!), the sautéed veggies, one egg, 1/2 cup beef broth, 1/2 milk, one cup of oatmeal, pinch of salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder.

Mix with your hands.  This is why I have no pictures of this stage.  I had very messy hands!

2015-01-11 17.02.39

Next, place loaf onto a baking pan.  I did not place mine in a loaf pan.  Make it the loaf as even in width as possible, you want the loaf to cook evenly.

Cover with deli sliced ham. Yes, I said it, ham.  We are using three types of meats!

Place covered in a 350 degree oven for 40 minutes.  Take the foil off, and cook for 20 more minutes.

This is what you get:

2015-01-11 20.14.03

Absolutely heavenly meatloaf.  I served it with mashed potatoes, broccoli and plenty of gravy!

Makes great leftover meatloaf sandwiches!

One thought on “Meatloaf, Orange Pork and Scallop Potatoes

Leave a Reply

