Menus

DSC_0062

Hello Everyone!  It has truly been a crazy few weeks, and instead of retelling all the gruesome details, I will refer you to the story of my son and his own cooking adventure:  Thumbs are Important.  If you just read it and are returning, he is doing much better today and we will find out more tomorrow.

I had every intention of posting my menu and some recipes last week, but things got a little crazy and my son ranked number one on the priority list.  Isn’t that the job of a mother though?  We are constantly juggling and shifting priorities to make the family run more smoothly and to ensure their comfort and safety.  But with all the craziness, I still followed a menu and we stuck with our plan of not eating out.

I have started this habit of trying to find at least five different meals from five different cookbooks.  I have so many cookbooks, and I always think to myself how I would love to start cooking from them, and tweaking them to make them fit my family.  Creating weekly menus is a perfect opportunity to do this.  Last week, I chose from an Italian, Indian and Vegetarian cookbooks.  I was nervous due to the fact I have very picky eaters, and I did not know how they would react to such diverse food choices.  I am happy to report, they were actually excited to see what I would be cooking and how it would taste.  Cooking in a diverse way created excitement!  Who knew!

Here is what we had:

Monday:  Paglia e Fieno with garlic and mushroom toast

Tuesday:  Stuffed bell peppers with spinach salad

Wednesday:  French onion soup with broccoli sautéed in garlic and butter

Thursday:  Leftovers

Friday:  Hamburgers with homemade mac and cheese

Saturday:  Leftovers

Sunday:  Mushroom curry, Corn and Onion Curry and Potato cakes

This week not as adventurous, but still delicious

Monday:  Shredded pork sandwiches and mixed veggies

Tuesday:  Beef Stroganoff with Broccoli

Wednesday:  Maple glazed pork chops with roasted corn relish

Thursday:  Chili pie and fresh cut veggies

Friday:  Veggie Soup with salad

Saturday:  My sons pizza

Sunday:  Shepherds pie

I hope you all are having fun planning and sticking with your menus!  I will work hard to post some of the recipes this week!

Love to you all,

Suzy

Leave a Reply

