Boxty Recipe

DSC_0013

Having a boxty is a lot like having a potato pancake, because that is pretty much what they are. They are yummy and a slight bit addicting, especially if you add cream cheese and parmesan cheese like I did.   But you will gain about a billion pounds if you eat these on a daily basis, so proceed with caution.

1/2 pound mashed potatoes

4 oz. cream cheese

2 tablespoons butter

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

1 tablespoon garlic

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 pound flour

milk

1 large egg whisked

Now, let me tell you how I cooked the mashed potatoes first.  When I mashed them, I placed 4 ounces of cream cheese, 1 tablespoon butter, garlic, salt and pepper and 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese.  After you have mashed the deliciousness together, add the flour, the egg and just enough milk to make into a batter. Then drop by the spoonful’s into a hot frying pan ready with oil.  Cook about 5-6 minutes until browned on both sides.

DSC_0009 DSC_0011DSC_0010DSC_0011

I adapted this recipe from The Feckin’  Book of Everything Irish  The original recipe also added 1/2 shredded potatoes to the mashed and no cheeses, butter or garlic.

3 thoughts on “Boxty Recipe

  1. I love your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

    Like

    1. I am so glad you discovered my blog! I have visited yours and it is amazing! Would love to support each other!

      Like

Leave a Reply

