Rice Muffins

DSC_0004 DSC_0005 DSC_0006

As I am cooking through the Record Book, I come across some very interesting recipes, that honestly I have never tasted or even heard of.  Rice muffins are a recipe that falls into those categories, but is so worth the effort!  I love the texture, and they are great right out of the oven with butter and jam.

I hope you all try these!  Remember, I write the recipes as my great grandmother did!  So it might seem strange!

1 cup boiled rice (cooked in water)

1 cup milk

2 eggs beaten

5 tablespoons melted shortening ( I used butter)

1 1/2 cups sifted flour

2 teaspoons sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 teaspoons baking powder

Beat rice, milk, eggs and shortening (butter) well.  Sift flour, sugar, salt and baking powder into batter.  Mix only enough to combine.  Pour into greased muffin pan and bake in hot oven (400) for 25 minutes.  Makes 12 muffins!

Have fun and enjoy!

Love,

Suzy

2 thoughts on “Rice Muffins

Leave a Reply

