Homemade Oatmeal Cream Pies

DSC_0049

I love oatmeal cream pies!  When I was a kid, my dad would always get them.  I did not really like them as a kid, but when I entered my teenage years, my love for them began to grow.  Now, if there is a box within close range, I have to check myself closely.  If left alone, the box disappears.  The kids ask where they are and I say I have no idea what they are talking about.  So to make things easier, I do not buy them.

However, I did have a craving for them the other day, so I decided to experiment.  The results were truly delicious and I was so excited about them, that I thought I would share the recipe.

Keep in mind, they are the sweetest most delectable treats, and one small one will last you through the night.  I have a huge sweet tooth, and all it took was a small cream pie to satisfy me.

Oh, they are so good!

Here is the recipe:

Suzy’s Oatmeal Cream Pies

2 cups flour

1 cup white sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 3/4 cup oatmeal

1/4 cup milk

4-5 tablespoons honey

1 egg

2 teaspoons cinnamon

and here is the ultimate kicker:  1 cup butter cream frosting!  Which is 2 cups butter, 1 package powdered sugar and 5-6 tablespoons of milk.  Reserve one cup for the cookie batter and the rest for the cream filling for the pies!

Combine all the ingredients.  Butter and flour an 11×9 pan and place batter in the pan like brownies.  In fact the consistency is a lot like brownies.  Cook for 40 min at 350.  Let cool completely!!!! Cut into squares and fill with butter cream.

Delectable!

DSC_0048

2 thoughts on “Homemade Oatmeal Cream Pies

Leave a Reply

