VIntage Recipe-Happy Hour Cake

DSC_0034

I love cooking vintage recipes!  I especially love cooking from my Great Grandmothers cookbook she made for my mother.  This book is a compilation of recipes dating from the 1940’s through 1960’s, and given to my mother in 1968.  It was made with much love to help prepare my mom for marriage.  There are fun stories of married life, but also delicious recipes from magazines, newspapers and creations from my great-grandmother herself.  A very special book indeed.

Last year, I began cooking a recipe a day, but then life began to takeover, and suddenly I could not keep up anymore.  I still want to make a cookbook of vintage recipes, but, I may have to be more creative with my time to carry out this goal.

I decided to post today a fun and very different recipe for cake, called “Happy Hour Cake”.  This is a recipe from my grandmother, and I must admit I was nervous to try it.  I did not know how beer would taste in a cake.  I mean, we love to put brandy and sweeter alcohols in our cakes, but beer?  To me this is different.

But, I womaned up and cooked this cake, and to my surprise, I like it!  So here is the recipe for you to enjoy, and have a happy time eating it.

DSC_0040

Happy Hour Cake

1 1/2 cups of sugar

2/3 cups shortening ( I used butter, my son is very allergic to shortening.  I am sure you can also use animal lard as well.)

2 well beaten eggs

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cloves

2 teaspoons nutmeg

1 teaspoon cinnamon

2 3/4 cups flour

1 teaspoon soda

1 1/2 cups chopped dates ( I left these out because I did not have dates)

1 1/2 cups mashed bananas

1/2 cup chopped nuts (I left these out due to a horrible allergy to nuts in our family)

1 teaspoon vanilla

1- 12 oz can of beer

Cream shortening and sugar.  Add dry ingredients, add beaten eggs and mix well.

Add bananas, dates, nuts and vanilla and mix well until blended.

Add beer to blend.

Bake in large, long pan at 350 for 45 to 60 minutes

Carmel Icing

5 tablespoons butter

1 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup milk

Boil together for 3 to 5 minutes.  Add vanilla.

Add 1 cup sifted powdered sugar and mix well until it is the right consistency to spread on cake.

Enjoy

Leave a Reply

