The First Time I Made Brownies

Let me explain why brownies are a big deal for me to make.

When I first started dating my husband, I thought I would impress him by making a meal.  Let me explain that I never fully learned how to cook.  I never watched my mom, I never learned the wisdom from my grandmothers.  As I got older, I became more interested and I actually asked my grandmother if she would teach me how to cook for Christmas.  She asked me how many Christmases I thought she had left?  Translation?  Teaching me to cook was going to be an impossible task.

When someone says impossible, the challenge is on for me!  So I began paying attention to my mom, asking questions and going to hang out with my grandmothers.  Gathering up their favorite recipes, I began to try to cook.

So back to the date I cooked for my boyfriend(now husband) that night.  I do not remember what I tried to make for the main course, but I do remember the dessert.  I made brownies from a box.

There I was, trying to be housewifely, in an apron, excited for my main squeeze to come over for dinner.  I was so proud of myself.  I mixed the brownies together, and placed them in the oven.  Forty minutes later, they were still a liquid.  I could not figure it out.

Then I noticed the eggs still sitting on the counter.

I forgot to put them in!

So I did what anyone would do (or maybe just people like me).  I quickly placed the eggs into the hot brownie batter.  They quickly began to fry as I frantically swirled them around.  There were white chunks mixed into deep, dark brownies.

I actually went ahead and served them to my boyfriend. This man actually ate them, and bless his heart,  said they were good! Needless to say, I knew he was lying, but I also knew right then and there that I would marry him one day.

Long story short, today I make brownies from scratch and serve them to my children on a tray.

I have come a long way, but still have a long way to go.

Have fun baking everyone!

Love,

Suzy

3 thoughts on “The First Time I Made Brownies

Leave a Reply

