Homemade Pumpkin Pie

DSC_0036

We recently had a small volunteer pumpkin plant produce two pie pumpkins.  I honestly do not know where this plant came from, but I was happy it showed up.  The pumpkins were ripe and ready to go, so I thought I would venture into the unkown world of making pumpkin pie from scratch.  This is a scary thought for someone like me!  I have never made a pumpkin pie to begin with!  So making one from pumpkins?  I was a little nervous, but I must admit, I did a pretty good job.

Here is the first thing you need to do:  cut your pumpkin into half and place it on a pan lined with foil and roast it for 1 1/2 hours at 350 degrees.

When the pumpkin is done roasting, peel the skin off and place in a large bowl.  I had two pie pumpkins for this recipe, so if you are looking for a single pie, then please use one pumpkin.

Next puree the pumpkin.  I used a hand blender for this, and it blended the pumpkin nice and smooth.  Set this aside.

In another large bowl, place 2 cups sugar, 2 teaspoons cinnamon, teaspoon salt and 1 1/2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice.  Combine together.  In another bowl, beat four large eggs.  After those have been beaten, stir the eggs into the dry ingredients.  Now add the egg and dry ingredients mixture to the pumpkin puree and mix well. Next add 2 small cans of sweetened condensed milk.  I know this is slightly unconventional, but it is oh so good!  Mix well and sit aside.

Make your two of your favorite pie crust recipe, and cook the crust for 10 minutes.  Place the filling in in both crusts and cook the pie for about one hour until the filling is firm.  My pie turned out with a nice crust on the top and a creamy filling in the middle.  It was divine!

You can also freeze the filling!

I hope you are all doing well!

Love,

Suzy

Leave a Reply

