Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake

This is a cake that is an absolute must try!  So moist, chocolaty and very delicious.  I got this particular recipe from my great grandmothers Record Book.  Now here is the deal.  The frosting was not supposed to look like that!  It was supposed be light and fluffy like a cloud.  Mine turned out to be runny, but it was still very, very good!  Oh well, it was a good mistake I guess!

So without further ado, here is the cake recipe!

Mayonnaise Cake

2 cups cake flour (I used all purpose)
1 cup sugar
2 teaspoons soda
4 tablespoons cocoa
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup warm water
Vanilla

This is very important:  Sift together the dry ingredients 3 times!  This ensures that the cocoa is incorporated!
Add one cup mayonnaise.  Mix.  Add one cup water.  Mix together until blended well.  Add vanilla.
Bake in a greased pan at 350 for 30-35 minutes.

White cloud frosting
I want to state that I messed up on this frosting!  But it was still really good the way it turned out!

1 cup shortening or oleo (butter)
1 cup sugar
1cup milk
6 tablespoons flour
vanilla

Add milk and flour to a sauce pan and Cook slowly, stirring.  Allow to cool completely!!!!!! I did not let mine cool as much as I should have. 
Cream shortening and sugar, add milk mixture, add vanilla
Beat until fluffy and spread.  Or in my case pour.

I hope you enjoy this yummy cake!

Leave a Reply

