Tasty Rice Pudding

Merry Christmas everyone!  I hope you are enjoying your season of peace, love and food!  I made an all out feast yesterday, and we are still recovering from stuffing our faces!  One of the biggest hits of the evening was my rice pudding!  I took my great grandmothers recipe, and I made it my own.  It was delicious and perfect for a cold winters night!

I am going to try my hardest to explain to you all how I did it!  Seriously, I made it and then tried to write it down.  In reality, I should have been writing it down as I was making it.  But, alas, I did not.  If you have any questions about any part of the recipe, please ask!

DSC_0001 (1)

Tasty Rice Pudding

1 3/4 cups rice cooked with 3 tablespoons of butter.

In a medium size saucepan, combine 4 cups of milk with 3 more tablespoons of butter with cinnamon to taste.  Bring to a boil over medium heat.

Meanwhile, combine one beaten egg with 1 cup of brown sugar, mix together well.

When the milk mixture is boiling, temper the egg and sugar mixture, then slowly poor into the milk mixture, stirring constantly so the egg will not scramble.

Put the rice in the milk mixture and cook on low for about thirty minutes, until the rice and milk are creamy.  Add vanilla to taste.

So very, very good.  Especially with a little fudge shaved over the top.

I made this the day before, then heated in the oven the next day.  Truly just as yummy as the first day.

Merry Christmas To All Of You!

Suzy

Leave a comment