Sugar Cookies

We ve developed a tradition in this house.  It really wasn’t one we tried to do, it just happened!  Every year, I seem to be behind on my Christmas baking, and end up making sugar cookies on the 23rd of December.  Not early, but late in the day, so they are impossible to decorate!  We have begun waiting until the 24th to decorate in between masses.  My kids are still young enough to be in the children’s service, but they are old enough to acolyte at the midnight one.  So on Christmas Eve, we attend church at 5pm, come home and then head off to mass at 1030.  During the time at home, I have tried to keep them occupied so they will stay calm.  We make reindeer food, watch a movie, eat grilled pimento cheese sandwiches and chips and color Christmas cookies.  This has seemed to work out so well, that it is now a tradition!  Another tradition to this cookie decorating is that the last one can always be piled high with frosting and consumed by the decorator.  I try my hardest not to judge on how much frosting is on the cookie because, after all, it is Christmas!

I use my great grandmothers Christmas Crisp Holiday Sugar Cookie recipe, and they always make the best cookies!  So I thought I would share this recipe with you today.

DSC_0050DSC_0049

Christmas Crisp Holiday Sugar Cookie

Cream 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup lard and 1 1/2 cups sugar together.  Add two well beaten eggs.  1 tablespoon vanilla and beat until light.  Dissolve 1/2 teaspoons of soda in 3 tablespoons sour cream (or buttermilk).  Sift three cups flour with 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon baking powder.  Add the sour cream mixture and flour to the creamed together ingredients and blend well.  Chill until very cold.  Roll until thin as a dime on floured surface and cut into Christmas shapes with cookie cutters.  Bake at 350 for 8 minutes until a delicate golden brown.

I have written the recipe exactly how my great grandmother wrote it in the Record Book.  A couple of changes can be made to the ingredients.  Instead of lard you can use shortening or another cup of butter.  If you use butter, I would use slightly less than a 1/2 cup and make sure it is very very cold!  Also, I do not roll mine out quite so thin.  I like a fatter cookie! to frost, I use a butter cream recipe.  Makes the cookies that much better!

Do you have any vintage recipes in your Christmas traditions?

Leave a Reply

