Jello Mold Recipe

This is a recipe I did several years ago.  I thought it would be fun to resurrect the jello mold post, since I am thinking of making another one.  Just to let you know, my family had mixed feelings about it.  Little Bit loved it, I thought it was not horrible, but everyone else, hated it!  But I have committed myself to making everything in my great grandmothers cookbook, so we must endure jello molds!
Enjoy!
Do you know what these are?

If you guessed Jello molds, you are right!

I went ahead and took the plunge.  I did not own one single mold, so I went in search for them at thrift stores.  It was actually more difficult than I thought it would be.  After visiting three separate stores, I finally found some molds that could work.

Then the molds sat in the cabinets for about a week until I got up enough nerve to make a jello mold.  I was talking with my in-laws while they were here this weekend, and they expressed how much they enjoyed jello molds.  I am sorry, but the thought of including a radish in jello does not excite me.  While I was reading through the recipes, I could not believe what was put in them.  Ugh!  My family will probably stare at the jello mold, and never have a spoonful touch their mouths.

I found one that was “safe” to start with.  I say safe, because it sounds good until the cottage cheese is placed on top.

It’s the yummy Hawaiian Salad!!! Sounds exotic!  It contains a package of strawberry jello, can of pineapple and cottage cheese placed on top.  Oh and do not forget the cherry, and the lettuce!  Now I am thinking that each thing sounds good, individually.  But placed together, I must admit I am nervous. Well, I decided, I better do it.  I promised myself I would make everything in the cookbook.  Everything!!!

I began by making the Jello.  I greased the molds just a little.  I have never made one, and I am not sure if this is necessary, but I wanted to be on the safe side.

Drain the pineapple, and add the can to the Jello when poured into the mold.  You then have to wait for three hours.  I did these steps last night.

I chose to have it for dinner tonight. Here are the results.

A clean break from the mold!! Oh my goodness!

Oh, but wait, it is not done.

There is your Hawaiian Delight!  Unfortunately, I do not have a cherry to make totally scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

