Grilled Pizza

DSC_0013

Let me start off by saying, sorry about the picture!  As we were finishing up, I asked my son to get my camera, and he promised he took a really good artistic one.  I guess I will check next time!  Secondly, this is my sons specialty!  He makes the dough and sauce, I cook it on the grill.  We make a pretty good team and have loads of fun doing it!

Let’s start with the sauce recipe.

He puts a can of tomato sauce and a can of tomato paste in a blender.  He adds a tablespoon of sugar, garlic and onion powder, dried basil, salt and pepper to taste and blends it together.  He tastes then adds more accordingly.  It is truly a simple and delicious sauce!

For the dough:

3cups flour

1 tablespoon sugar

2 tablespoons ice cold water

1 tablespoon olive oil

and salt.

He then flours the dough, and rolls it out into the shape he wants it in.  This is usually a rectangle.  We have also found it is easier to lay this dough on a cutting board and then invert the board over the grill.  If you try to transfer the dough by hand, the shape gets interesting.  Also, roll the dough pretty thin, it will puff a bit on the grill.

Before placing the dough on the grill, oil your grill liberally. Also, make sure the grill is screaming hot!  Like the temperature gauge is all the way to the hottest! I do this by taking a cloth saturated with oil, then taking my tongs, I grab the cloth and oil the grates.  After oiling the grates, oil the top of the rolled out pizza dough liberally, smear around so the dough is coated.  Invert the board, and the dough is on the grill.  Close the grill lid, and give it 3 minutes.  Do not peak.  Open the grill lid and flip the dough.  Close the lid again, and give it two minutes.  Place the pizza on the top rack of the grill to have that side finish cooking, do not flip it.  This is when you add the ingredients.  I put the sauce, toppings then the cheese.  Close the lid again and wait five minutes or until the cheese is bubbly.  Remove, cut and serve.

Seriously delicious!  I am so glad my son loves pizza and loves grilling.  Oh and loves cooking with me!

Leave a Reply

