Simple but Flavorful Meat Sauce

Hello everyone!  I hope you are enjoying your first few days of 2017!  We are back in full swing here at the Bits household!  Kids are back to school, well home school that is, appointments are taking up our days, and all the crazy activities are in full swing.  Kind of shell shocked, but happy to be back into a groove.  Part of that groove is cooking dinner.  Honestly, the last two weeks have been sporadic, and when I did cook, the meal was so huge we had left overs for days!  So today when I remembered that people would actually be hungry and that I needed to cook, I had to think of something quick!  What quicker meal than spaghetti and meat sauce!  Even better I had a bunch of leftover pork sausage from New Years day breakfast that I could use!  Since I remembered that people probably wanted dinner at around 4pm, I had no meat thawed, and needed something fast.

Since the sausage was already cooked, I just made my quick and easy red sauce and dinner was on the table in thirty minutes flat.  Bread and steamed fresh veggies were added to make it a well rounded meal.  We probably could have survived without the bread, but why?

So here is what I did to make the sauce:

Placed the sausage in a cast iron pan, then added canned tomatoes.  These are actually my own canned tomatoes, so they were a quart whole Roma tomatoes drained.  Next, a can of tomato sauce added to the mixture.  Then the seasonings.  Two tablespoons of garlic, 1 tablespoon of onion powder, 1 teaspoon cayenne, 2 teaspoons of celery salt, chopped fresh basil to taste, 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar and finally freshly ground pepper.  I did not add any extra salt due to the fact the sausage was salty enough.  My kids loved the sausage and actually preferred it to the normal ground beef!

Just a quick recipe for a last minute meal!  Hope you can use this when you are strapped for time!

dsc_0001

PS-This photo was taken by my son who insisted on doing it! Does not do the sauce justice, but it will do!

Enjoy,

Suzy

Leave a Reply

